Google Apps

Google Apps

In November 2010 Google opened the flood gates to nearly all of their web applications (like AdSense, Blogger, Picassa, Reader, Scholar, and YouTube) to Google Apps for Education users, such as Ohio Wesleyan University. Information Services made the transition to new account infrastructure to make these services available in January 2011. Here you will find information on this transition and instructions on how to migrate your data from a personal Google account to your OWU BishopApps account. Here is the announcement from the Google blog.

Please note that on March 1, 2012 Google changed the privacy policy for all of their personal account holders. This change does not affect the core products of our Google Apps for Education contract (Mail, Calendar, Documents, and Sites.) However, it does affect all of the additional products mentioned above and described on the Google Apps page. In Google’s own words: “Enterprise customers using Google Apps for Government, Business or Education have individual contracts that define how we handle and store their data. As always, Google will maintain our enterprise customers’ data in compliance with the confidentiality and security obligations provided to their domain. The new Privacy Policy does not change our contractual agreements, which have always superseded Google’s Privacy Policy for enterprise customers.” For more information, see this Chronicle Wired Campus article, or our Terms of Service here. Also know that Google Web History is not enabled for OWU BishopApps accounts.

Link to this section of the page.

Multiple Sign-ins

How to Enable Multiple Sign-In:

  1. Sign in and go to your Multiple Sign-In settings page
  2. Select On, then click/check the following checkboxes to confirm that you understand how to use multiple sign-in.
  3. Click Save.
  4. You may need to sign out of all of your accounts before it will take effect.

Once you’ve enabled multiple sign-in for one of your Google Accounts, follow the steps below to enable multiple sign-in for additional accounts you would like to sign in to:

  1. Sign in to a product that supports multiple sign-in, using an account that has multiple sign-in enabled.
  2. Click your email address in the top-right corner of the page to expand the drop-down menu.
  3. Select Sign in to another account.
  4. On the page that opens, enter the email address and password for another account you wish to access, and click Sign in.

In addition, you can find more information here.

Link to this section of the page.

Why do I have two existing Google accounts?

Google recently released an update to force the reconciliation of conflicting accounts. These are personal accounts (not managed within the OWU BishopApps domain) for non-core Google services (core = Mail, Calendar, Contacts, Docs, Drive & Sites) that people signed up for using their @owu.edu email address. They must have signed up for these accounts prior to 2010, when we included lots of other Google services (YouTube, Blogger, Google +, Analytics, Chrome Management, Maps, Photos, etc.) in our Google Apps for Education domain. Users may not remember creating these accounts or even be aware that they have them, so they’re confused when they see this prompt:

No notice will be sent to users, but the next time they go to sign in to a browser that doesn’t remember them (where they haven’t clicked the ‘Stay signed in’ box when entering their password) they’ll get the notice. We have no way to find out which users in our domain have conflicting accounts, but Google has instructions posted (pretty much the same as they were 5 years ago) and should be simple to follow.

Click here for more information on how a conflicting account is created.
Click here for a Help Center Article that will help you resolve the conflicting accounts. Click here for instructions to delete your personal Google account.

 

Link to this section of the page.

Will any of my Docs, Sheets, Calendars, or other data be preserved when my OWU BishopApps account is deleted?
  • The deleted user will no longer be able to sign in to BishopApps.
  • Any existing mail and chat messages in the user’s account will be lost.

Groups: A group created by a deleted user does not ever get deleted automatically. Information Services can see/manage all groups.

Docs: When a user is deleted, all docs created by this user will be deleted as well. There is no fixed time for this. Typically, docs disappear after five days. However, sometimes they may be available for a slightly longer period of time depending on when the purge task executes. The best practice is to reassign ownership of important docs before account deletion.

Sites: Sites that were created by a deleted user do not get deleted. All sites stay unless they are explicitly deleted. Information Services can access all sites in BishopApps regardless of the share/visibility settings.

Calendar: The user’s primary calendar will be deleted but events created by the user will not. Secondary calendars created by a deleted user do not get deleted. However, if others in the domain want to be able to manage these calendars they must be given ownership before the calendar is deleted.

Blogger: All blogs owned by the user will be deleted when the user account is deleted.

See this related article for more information: http://www.google.com/support/a/bin/answer.py?answer=33314 (Note that the article is for Google Apps Administrator help. OWU Information Services works with the Registrar’s Office, Human Resources, and Alumni Relations in the routine removal of user accounts.)

Link to this section of the page.